Age Appropriate Hobbies?

No, I don’t believe in such a thing.  I am nearly fifty years old and one of the things I love to do is search for vintage metal truck toys, such as the one pictured here.  I prefer not to spend more than ten dollars on an item.  I cannot answer you when you ask why I collect them.  I like the way the paint has worn off to reveal the bare metal underneath. They’ve been heavily used and have visual reminders of their own histories.  They look cool on the shelf.  Does it matter why?  We should pursue our visual interests and pay attention to where our attention is drawn.  There’s a reason why we’re captivated by certain objects or why we become nostalgic when we think about particular categories of things, even if we might not ever know what that reason is.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 00:43:32

    I’ll keep this in mind when I’m looking for toys 🙂 And do you get paid for advertisements that pop up in your blog?

    Reply

  2. Sandra Seekins
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 18:10:21

    I didn’t know my blog had pop up advertisements until recently, when I saw one for the first time. I don’t get paid for them, but then again I guess that’s why I don’t have to pay for my blog!

    Reply

  3. Sally
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 00:48:23

    I like these too – much nicer than new ones. I also like old pencils – very satisfying!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

