On Drawing

CorruptionI’ve been inspired lately by a number of books on drawing: Vitamin P: New Perspectives in Drawing, Danny Gregory’s An Illustrated Life, and Big Book of Contemporary Illustration…Gregory’s book includes the artists talking about their favorite drawing materials, which is helpful, and Vitamin P is stuffed with amazing visual delights – a very ecclectic offering.  It has made me ponder the benefits of drawing, especially since I’ve mainly been doing abstract work lately.  I drew constantly as a child (and have the bump on my finger to prove it – I insisted on pressing really hard).  I thought I might enrol in Emily Carr when I was younger, but then other stuff happened.  I used to draw and write poetry in my earlier journals – in the eighties – but when I went to grad school, it killed my creativity, since I was far to busy reading and writing in a completely different and much more formal way.  Now, however, I am again invested in utilizing those petrified skills.  Perhaps I’ll take a summer drawing class to re-hone my abilities.

Gregory’s book also has some thought-provoking quotes regarding the value of drawing, such as this one by Rick Beerhorst: “…Drawing and writing help me remain whole in a world that feels so broken apart.”  Many of the artists who keep sketchbooks talk about the way drawing quiets them down, allows them to pay closer attention to the moment and to inhabit it.  They remember objects far more if they’ve drawn them than if they’ve photographed them.  Drawing is how they know and understand the world around them; many of them can’t imagine life without it – no matter whether they find it pleasurable or frustrating, whether they excel at it or have to struggle with it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moranna
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 10:03:28

    Its annoying, I really can’t draw! To make a picture, I have to take a photograph, enlarge it, trace it on to a drawing sheet or canvas, and then paint or pastel the picture which generally turns out quite reasonable. I don’t mind doing this, but I would really like to draw! I try and try, but don’t seem to improve!!

    Reply

    • Sandra Seekins
      Apr 12, 2010 @ 16:27:01

      Just keep trying to train your eye to see. This requires you to embrace quiet, be still, and look really hard at things. And, if you enjoy drawing, it doesn’t matter if you aren’t “good” at it in the traditional sense. Being creative is its own reward. Photographing, enlarging, and tracing are all perfectly acceptable ways to create!

      Reply

  2. elangdkews
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 00:50:16

    let`s be friends..
    no need to give up!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

